PDRL World Cup

Physical Disability Rugby League (PDRL) is an adapted version of rugby league aimed at facilitating those with physical disabilities the opportunity to play. It is a nine-a-side running format of the game, and is both full contact and touch, based on disability which is signified by the colour of a player’s shorts.

The PDRL World Cup takes place in Warrington from Sunday 23 October with Wales, England, Australia and New Zealand taking on each other in a round robin format at Victoria Park, before the final takes place on Sunday 30 October at the Halliwell Jones Stadium following Samoa v France in the men’s Rugby League World Cup.

Wales will be competing in four different Rugby League World Cups this autumn. Wales begin their men’s World Cup campaign by taking on Cook Islands in Leigh on October 19. Four days later, their PDRL World Cup schedule starts with a game against New Zealand in Warrington. Then on November 4, Wales Wheelchair begin their World Cup when they take on France in Sheffield. Finally, on November 13 in York, Wales play in the Masters World Cup Festival, a tournament for those aged 35 and over.

Full PDRL World Cup schedule:

Round 1, October 23, Victoria Park:

Wales v New Zealand – 2pm

England v Australia – 4.30pm

Round 2, October 25, Victoria Park

Wales v England – 2pm

Australia v New Zealand – 4.30pm

Round 3, October 28, Victoria Park

England v New Zealand – 5pm

Australia v Wales – 7.30pm

Finals, 30 October

Third place play-off – 2pm Victoria Park

Final – 7.30pm, Halliwell Jones Stadium