Great Britain

The Great Britain Rugby League side was originally known as “Northern Union” or sometimes erroneously “England” before eventually adopting the Great Britain name everywhere. On tour, they were known as the Lions.

Our first Northern Union players included our first Wales captain Tom Llewellyn. He, along with Bert Jenkins, Johnny Thomas, Dai Jones and George Ruddick all lined up in the first ever Lions match when they beat New Zealand 14-6 on January 25th 1908. All bar Ruddick had played in Wales’ 9-8 win over the touring professional All Blacks 24 days earlier.

A number of Welsh players have turned out for Great Britain. Below is a full list of all the players along with the number of test caps that they won. This does not include the players who made tour appearances for the Lions but were unable to break into the full test side.

* = Welsh born but didn’t play for Wales.
Tom LlewellynOldham1908213
Bert JenkinsWigan1908-19141426
Johnny ThomasWigan1908-191110618
Dai JonesMerthyr Tydfil190820
George RuddickBroughton R1908-191130
Phil ThomasLeeds190810
George ThomasWarrington190810
Frank YoungLeeds190910
Frank ShugarsWarrington191010
Oliver BurghamHalifax191110
Will DaviesHalifax191110
Jim DaviesHuddersfield1911-191220
Ben GronowHuddersfield1911-192071122
Percy ColdrickWigan1913-1914413
Jack ChilcottHuddersfield191430
Gwyn ThomasWigan and Huddersfield1914-192290
Frank WilliamsHalifax191420
Willie DaviesLeeds1914226
Johnny RogersHuddersfield1914-19227612
Stuart ProsserHalifax191410*
Evan DaviesOldham192030
Jim BaconLeeds1920-192711618
Danny HurcombeWigan1920-1924813
Robbie LloydHalifax1920-192120
Jack BeamesHalifax192120
Edgar MorganHull192120
Tommy HowleyWigan1924626
Jim SullivanWigan1924-19342671142
Frank EvansSwinton192440
Joe ThompsonLeeds1924-3212139
Johnny RingWigan1924-192620
Dai ReesHalifax192610
Arthur ThomasLeeds1926-1930426*
Billo ReesSwinton1926-19301126
Jack GoreSalford192710
Emlyn GwynneHull1928-192930
Dai JenkinsHunslet192910
Tommy ReesOldham192910*
Billy WilliamsSalford1930-193220
Les WhiteHunslet1932-193370
Gus RismanSalford1932-1946171224
Billy WatkinsSalford1933-193770
Billy DaviesCastleford193310*
Emlyn JenkinsSalford1933-1937926
Alan EdwardsSalford1935-19487721
Jack MorleyWigan1936-193720
Dai ProsserLeeds193710
Doug PhillipsOldham and Belle Vue R1944-195040
Frank WhitcombeBradford N1946213
Arthur BassettHalifax19462515
Billy DaviesBradford N1946-194730
Trevor FosterBradford N1946-1948326
Joe JonesWigan194610
Ike OwensLeeds1946413
Ted WardWigan19463127
Dai JenkinsLeeds1947-1953113
Roy FrancisBarrow1947126
Elwyn GwytherBelle Vue R1947-1951613
Dickie WilliamsLeeds1947-195313824
Les ThomasOldham194710
George ParsonsSt Helens and Salford1948-195910
Jack EvansHunslet1951-56624
Arthur DanielsHalifax1952-1955313
Billy BanksHuddersfield1952-195320
Ray PriceWarrington and St Helens1954-1957926
Billy BostonWigan1954-62312472*
Tommy HarrisHull1954-19602526
Dai BevanWigan195220
John ThorleyHalifax1953-195450
Lewis JonesLeeds1953-5717566147
Glyn MosesSt Helens1955-5790
Charlie WinsladeOldham195910
Don VinesWakefield T1959313
Colin DixonHalifax, Salford and Hull KR1961-19741439
Stan OwenLeigh196310
Ron MorganSwinton1963-68413
John WarlowSt Helens1964-197160
Berwyn JonesWakefield T1964-66339*
Gordon LewisLeigh196510
Mervyn HicksSt Helens196510*
John MantleSt Helens1966-1973130
Malcolm PriceOldham1967213*
Clive SullivanHull and Hull KR1967-1973171339
Terry PriceBradford N1970136
Keri JonesWigan197020
David WatkinsSalford1971-1974636
Jim MillsBradford N and Widnes1974-197960
Maurice RichardsSalford1974213
David WillicombeWigan1974326
John BevanWarrington1974-19786515
Roy MathiasSt Helens197910
Glyn ShawWidnes198010
Chris CamilleriBarrow1980213
Phil FordWarrington and Leeds1985-198913936
Jonathan DaviesWidnes and Warrington1989-199413331276
David BishopHull KR199010
Gerald CordleBradford N1990114
Anthony SullivanSt Helens1991-19997312
Kevin EllisWarrington199110
Paul MoriartyWidnes and Halifax1991-1994228
John DevereuxWidnes1992-19938624
Allan BatemanWarrington1992-199430
Jonathan GriffithsSt Helens1992114
Mark JonesHull199210
Richard EyresLeeds and Swinton L1993-1998928
Iestyn HarrisWarrington, Leeds R and Bradford B1994-20071521028
Neil CowieWigan1995-199930
Rowland PhillipsWarrington199610
Keiron CunninghamSt Helens1996-20061614
Paul AtchesonOldham199730
Lee BriersWarrington W200110
Gareth CarvellHull FC200620
Translate »