2018 Commonwealth Championships – Day 1

Fixtures and Results

10.15am – Tonga 22 Samoa 8
12.05pm – Fiji 14 Scotland 10
12.30pm – Australia 30 Wales 0 (go to 2:32:00 to watch the match)
12.55pm – England 10 Samoa 28
1.45pm – Papua New Guinea 12 Tonga 20
3.10pm – Australia 36 Scotland 0
3.35pm – Fiji 12 Wales 4 (go to 5:42:00 to watch the match)
4.50pm – Samoa 16 Papua New Guinea 14
5.15pm – England 6 Tonga 12
6.05pm – Scotland 24 Wales 0 (go to 8:10:00 to watch the match)
7.30pm – Australia 24 Fiji 4
7.55pm – England 12 Papua New Guinea 4

11.05am – Fiji 6 Samoa 24
11.30am – Canada 4 Tonga 8
2.10pm – Australia 26 Samoa 4
2.45pm – Cook Islands 4 Tonga 12
5.40pm – Canada 12 Cook Islands 20
7.05pm – Australia 20 Fiji 0

10.40am – New Zealand 4 Commonwealth All Stars 0
1.20pm – Australia 8 Commonwealth All Stars 0
3.10pm – Australia 4 Commonwealth All Stars 0
6.40pm – Australia 6 New Zealand 0



Australia, with all bar three of their players in NRL squads, showed their class by beating Wales 30-0 in the opening match.

From Wales’ first attack, Blake Turner was pushed into touch. Australia made them pay and scored the opener when Townsville Blackhawks’ Michael Caroll slid over in the corner.

Wales pushed for an equaliser but a dropped ball near to the Australia line, gave the Kangaroos the ball back and again, from a length of the field set, Brisbane Broncos’ Katoni Staggs scored in the same place.

There was nearly a third try but Harry Grant grounded just short of the line on the final tackle of a set.

But just before the break, Broncos’ Corey Allan raced away for their third, converting himself to give Australia a 14-0 lead.

The Kangaroos were in again straight after the break through Sydney Roosters’ Paul Momirovski, Burleigh Bears’ Hayden Schwass before Melbourne Storm’s Harry Grant try brought it up to 26-0.

Wales couldn’t get past the tough Australian defence. Stefan Collins gave it a go but he too was bundled into touch whilst Rhys Gant made a cheeky grubber for Paul Edwards but that was collected by Caroll.

Schwass’ second a minute before the end made the final score 30-0.



Wales regained some pride following the World Cup meeting between the two countries and the 12-4 win for Fiji wasn’t a fair reflection of how close the game was.

This result means both Wales and Scotland miss out on the medal games on Saturday.

A great bit of skill from Liam Silver gave Wales the lead, he controlled the conditions and dribbled the ball soccer style before leaping onto it.

Fiji levelled from kick-off through a Netani Narisia try.

Karlin Claridge believed he had Wales’ second try but it was chalked off for a forward pass and the score remained at 4-4 at the break.

Wales had a very good set of six just after the interval and were so close to scoring on a few occasions, only tough Fijian tackling and too long a kick on the final play, preventing a second Welsh score.

Some good play in the Fijian backline prevented Morgan Jefferies picking up the ball with the try-line at his mercy.

Straight from that let-off, Fiji’s Sam Kurukitoga scored a long-range try to go 8-4 up and they sealed the game after RT Timoli scored in the corner with two minutes to go.

There was nearly a try back for Paul Edwards but a tough tackle forced him to mishandle near the try-line.



By the time it came to the Battle of the Celts, much of the field, especially the sidelines, had turned into a quagmire due to the persisting rain, making skillful rugby very difficult.

Scotland took an early lead after Niall Sydney scored in the corner following a well-worked set of six and they built the lead to 10-0 after a Matt Hogg try under the sticks which he converted.

When Jake Thomas was sent off for his contribution to a fight, that was the match for Wales.

Sydney broke through for the third try just before half-time then Justin Faughlin and Luke Westman added further unconverted tries.


1 Cobi Green (Bradford Bulls)

2 Stefan Collins (Coleg Y Cymoedd)

4 Paul Edwards (Unattached)

5 Liam Rice-Wilson (Coventry Bears)

6 Zak Williams (Coventry Bears)

7 Rhys Gant (Valley Cougars)

8 Dan Crabtree (Ulverston ARLFC)

9 Connor Farrer (West Wales Raiders)

10 Jake Thomas (Torfaen Tigers)

11 Blake Turner (Rochdale Hornets)

12 Aneurin Walker (West Wales Raiders)

14 Macauley Harris (West Wales Raiders)

16 Morgan Jefferies (West Wales Raiders)

17 Karlin Claridge (West Wales Raiders)

18 Liam Silver (Torfaen Tigers)