Coaches and Captains

To play for Wales is one thing, to captain Wales is another.

Whether a player has captained Wales 18 times, like current men’s record holder Jim Sullivan, or just the once like a number have done, it’s a great honour to lead the team out and stand in the centre for the photographs or coin toss.

Since the Wales Wheelchair side started in 2012, there have been five captains and three head coaches…




Name Years G W D L Honours / World Cups
Maurice Craig 2012-2013 8 5 0 3 2013 Wheelchair World Cup – Third Place
Alana Sargent 2014-2016 10 2 0 8 2016 Celtic CupWinners
Stephen Jones 2016– 18 10 0 8 2017 Celtic CupWinners
2017 Wheelchair World CupFifth Place
2018 Celtic CupWinners
2019 Celtic CupWinners
Translate »